Review: To Marry a Prince

You might have noticed by now that I’m not a huge fan of contemporary romance – I read far more historical romance, paranormal romance, and straight-up fantasy – but after reading an interview with author Sophie Page at Word Wenches, the notion of her alternative British history certainly piqued my interest.  Cover of To Marry a PrinceAnd with an Amazon gift card balance still to spend, it didn’t take too much deliberation before this was added to my basket.

This was definitely a cute story, and the ridiculously dramatic beginning captured my attention immediately.  I actually started reading it on my commute to work, and couldn’t wait to pick it up again on my lunch break.  And on the trip home…  I finished it later that evening, but it’s taken me a few days (and the reading of a few more books to review) to ultimately decide what kind of review I would give.

The narrative style of this book reminds me strongly of Kiss Chase by Fiona Walker, which I read and adored so long ago that I’d forgotten both the title and author and had to consult The Google.  The whole thing has a fantastically English tone that was wonderfully familiar and delightful to read after the many North American-written or -styled books that populate the romance genre – I have no idea if Ms. Page is actually British or not, but if not she certainly convinced this Brit otherwise.

There were a few moments that managed to throw me out of the story, such as how on Earth terminally-clumsy Bella managed even a single night as a waitress, let alone in silver service, which requires a lot of precision and dexterity.  Neither of which our heroine seemed to possess.  Prince Richard often seemed to be too good to be true, and his one instance of less-than-princely behaviour struck me as rather ridiculous and out of character.

The sub-plot with ‘loyalsubjek101’ was a half-hearted attempt at the traditional ‘this romance story needs some kind of villain’ trope, and I would have been happier if it had been left out entirely and the relationship had faced other challenges, of which there were pretty much none.

And I’m immensely disappointed that I didn’t get to see Granny Georgia meet Queen Jane.

Overall, this was a delightfully sweet feel-good story with a dashing prince, a whirlwind romance, and a lovely happily-ever-after.  Recommended, but beware of possible sugar overdose.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

