Hitachi Magic Wand Epilogue

I am a very happy kitten today – the replacement for my broken Hitachi Magic Wand just arrived in the mail!  I am utterly thrilled that they not only agreed to honour the warranty but also sent me a new one instead of just repairing the old one and sending it back.

I’ve noticed a few hits lately from search terms like ‘broken Hitachi Magic Wand’ and ‘Magic Wand warranty’, so, in case anyone else needs the information:

According to the info that came in the box, the Hitachi Magic Wand is distributed in North America by Vibratex, Inc., a sex toy wholesaler based in California, USA.  The instruction booklet has Vibratex’s name and a toll-free 1-888 number on the back cover.  The number did not work for me in Canada.  The warranty card mentioned in its small print that the was valid in the United States, but I decided to continue trying to get in touch with them a) in case they would honour the warranty anyway and b) so I could complain if they didn’t

A little bit of googling around got me Vibratex’s website, where their Contact page lists some more phone numbers and a couple of email addresses.  I emailed the address they provide for warranty info, customerservice@vibratex, with a bit of a blurb about my purchase date and location, the problem I was having with the Hitachi Magic Wand, and asking whether they would honour the warranty even though I’m in Canada.  After a day or two I received a reply:

Please send your defective item along with a copy of the receipt and a note with your contact information and send it to:

Vibratex Returns
38 Executive Ct.
Napa, CA 94558.

Upon receiving your item we will process it in our claims department and issue an order for a new unit to be shipped out to you.  The entire process takes about 7-10 days from the date we receive your item.

As per instructions, I stuck the Hitachi Magic Wand back into its box, printed out the customer service email and my receipt email from EdenFantasys, and highlighted my contact information from that.  I also blacked out the names and prices of the two other items I bought, because I really don’t think Vibratex needs to know that I have a purple Tantus Acute and a bottle of Sliquid Organics lube.  YMMV.

I think it took a little longer than the time claimed, but with international shipping and crossing borders it’s difficult to tell whether the delay was with Vibratex or with the mail.  I have my Hitachi Magic Wand back now, and that’s all that really matters in the long run.

If anyone else outside of the US is unsure whether they can get their Hitachi Magic Wand repaired or replaced under warranty, I strongly suggest emailing them to find out.  It worked for me.

    • Sam
    • March 29th, 2012

    Thank you for this information. I have a bad back and use my wand and a heating pad when ever I’m woken up or can’t sleep because of back problems I really did not want to wait and find time tomorrow to call them about a warranty. Thank you again for the direct site link. BTW they added “…and in Canada come as you are” idk where it goes but at least they’re thinking of others needs.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

